CLICK COVER OR THIS LINK TO LISTEN AND/OR DOWNLOAD ‘GAIL’

Peace World. Last year, I had the honor of being apart of something beautiful. The homie, Norm Rocwell asked me to do a drop for a mixtape he was putting together for his homeboy, Jason, who was planning to present it to his then-girlfriend as he proposed. This is the real Love and Hip Hop (peep the happy couple below). Of course I was down but what made it extra unique is that the sister the mix was for had been diagnosed with Stage 4 Lung Cancer. Jason proposed to Gail last year and she said YES!

253286_10200589668081423_6769214_n
It breaks my heart to share with you that yesterday, I received word that she lost her fight with cancer. Below is the message Norm posted yesterday.

A mix I made for my dear friend, Gail Gabriel Cacho… It was for her then-boyfriend, Jason Cacho, when he proposed to her last year… This mix is now dedicated in memory of Gail. This is her mix, GAIL aka ‪#‎BetterThanLove‬ given out to family and friends at their wedding. Take a listen to it, download it… spread it. Gail was definitely a music head… She was also a big supporter of DJs and artists… Gail loved it, so will you… We miss you Gail, your legacy will live on… Rest In Paradise.  ‪#‎strongerthancancer‬‪ #‎lovestrong‬ ‪#‎lovelikethis‬ ‪#‎love‬ Thank you to everyone that helped contribute to this…

My contribution to this wonderful project was minuscule but it will not stop there. As you enjoy this mix please make a contribution to her family to help cover the funeral arrangements and lighten the burden.  I’m sure they’ll appreciate whatever you can donate. I plan to donate later this week and in the meantime I using my humble platform to spread the word.

DONATE TO GAIL’S FAMILY HERE

I just want to shout out Norm for allowing to be apart of something so beautiful and unique. And I’d like to ask all of you to keep Gail’s memory alive by spreading her story and this mix along with it. This music brings people together and clearly, Gail & Jason understood that as much as anyone… maybe more. Rest in POWER, Gail. Although, we never met, your struggle and love inspires me.

Stay in Peace.
Sub/Stan

P.S. Norm Rocwell, who also works at Access Music in San Diego (that’s how we met) also sent me a pick of her last purchase from Access. I am honored to have had such an amazing supporter. 🙂
2013-07-29 06.26.53

